Date Posted
15th Dec 2023

2023 Annual Awards

Congratulations to all our 2023 Awards Recipients! Your hard work, dedication, loyalty and determination are all commended and much appreciated by the Academy.

Academy Vice-Captains

Thank you to our 2023 Academy Vice-Captains

TRP Vice-Captain and Academy Captain: Emily W

WAG Vice-Captain: Sophie T

GFA Vice-Captain: Mel E

Congratulations to our 2024 Academy Captain and Vice-Captains

Academy Captain: Chloe B

TRP Vice-Captain: Poppy C

WAG Vice-Captain: Jorgia E

GFA Vice-Captain: Coach Connor

MAG Vice-Captain: Coach Claire

2023 Performance Excellence 

Sponsored this year by AVISO TAS Insurance Brokers, our Performance Excellence Awards are presented to who have consistently scored well in competition throughout the year.

WAG Levels 3-5

  • Sasha R
  • Frankie Targett

TUM Levels 3-10

  • Emily W
  • Poppy C
  • Leni V

TRP Levels 3-10

  • Emily B
  • Madison L
  • Mel E
  • Kiera S

2023 Encouragement Awards

Our Encouragement Awards, sponsored this year by AVISO TAS Insurance Brokers are presented to athletes who are dedicated and work hard.

WAG Encouragement Awards

  • Lily F
  • Abi B
  • Hailey J
  • Chloe B
  • Blake S

MAG Encouragement Awards

  • Nicholas W

TRP Encouragement Awards

  • Sophie M
  • Molly D(u)

TUM Encouragement Awards

  • Joshua M
  • Ella B
  • Laycie C

2023 GFA Dedication Awards

Initiated to recognise recreational athletes who have put in great effort through out the year, are dedicated and have improved consistently.

  • Mairead S
  • Krystie F

2023 Rising Star Awards

This is a new Award category initiated this year, sponsored by Jane Howlett, and designed to encourage younger gymnasts who demonstrate the potential to be a valued member of their chosen discipline.

  • Mia M | WAG (Women’s Artistic Gymnastics)
  • Molly D(e) | TRP (Trampoline Gymnastics)
  • Anna R | TUM (Tumbling Gymnastics) 
  • Rogan C | MAG (Men’s Artistic Gymnastics)

2023 Recognition Awards

Our Recognition Awards are sponsored this year by AVISO TAS Insurance Brokers. These are voted by peers and awarded to the most deserving nominee.

Volunteer of the Year: Belinda W

Trainee Coach of the Year: Mel E

Judge of the Year: Patricia G

Coach of the Year – Recreational: Ellie M

Coach of the Year – Competitive: Kara L

Tumbling Achievement Award:    Kiera S
Sponsored by Leanne Knibbs

2023 Perpetual Trophy Recipients

MAG Most Improved Gymnast:   Ethan L
Sponsored by the Maui Family

TRP Most Improved Gymnast:    Emily B
Sponsored by the Devlin-Spiers Family

WAG Most Improved Gymnast:    Hannah N
Sponsored by Kara Lawler

TUM Most Improved Gymnast:    Poppy C
Sponsored by Leanne Knibbs

Most Valuable Team Member:    Amber P
Sponsored by Janita Waller

Most Promising Gymnast:    Sasha R
Sponsored by Phil Owen

HGA Quiet Achiever Ricky Rapana Maui Memorial Award:  Hailee M
Sponsored by Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Janelle Chilcott Memorial Scholarship:    Emily W
Sponsored by Hobart Gymnastics Academy

Most Inspirational Gymnast:    Amber P
Sponsored by the Chilcott Family

Academy Spirit:    Hannah B
Sponsored by Lisa Clarke

Academy Champion

This Award is sponsored by Two-Way Taxi Trucks and is presented to the most successful of our competitive athletes.

2023 Academy Champion: Emily W

A huge thank you to all our sponsors, the support from whom enables us to celebrate our athletes each year.


We are sad to say goodbye to three members of our team. Coach Makayla and Coach Zoe are both heading off to further their education interstate, and Coach Corinne has been offered full-time work that she couldn’t turn down – luckily though, she does plan to return to coaching in the new year. A huge thank you to all three of you for your dedication and loyalty to the Academy. We wish you all the very best for the future.

Thank you to everyone who joined us for our 2023 Awards Presentation and our 2023 Display Day - we wish you all a wonderful holiday season and look forward to seeing you in 2024.